Fun Facts About Reading – Doing Rounds On Various Blogs

I saw this on many other blogs and couldn’t resist doing it myself. Specially, given the mental state one is in during exams, my brains will permit me nothing more than these tid-bits for the time being. Book Reviews shall have to wait.

Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback?

Trade paperback. Hardback only for really special books.

Amazon or brick and mortar?

Amazon. Great features!

Barnes & Noble or Borders?

None.

Bookmark or dogear?

Bookmarks.

Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random?

Random. Sometimes by category.

Keep, throw away, or sell?

Keep. Never Sell. May give away as gifts, though.

Keep dust-jacket or toss it?

Keep.

Read with dust-jacket or remove it?

Remove the dust-jacket while I read it, although sometimes it ends up getting smudged that way.

Short story or novel?

Novels. Am just beginning with short stories.

Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)?

Haven’t read many but I would prefer an anthology. Though would prefer collection of favourite authors individually. For example, Raymond Carver is best read as a collection and not as an anthology.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?

Harry Potter. Never read Lemony Snicket.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?

Generally, chapter breaks. But if none are approaching and am ready to doze off…well then, I don’t have a choice, do I?

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?

Once upon a time. I love classics and once upon a time remains the most ancient first-line of stories – including grandma tales.

Buy or borrow?

Prefer to buy. If I read something I borrow and like it, I will buy it anyways, despite having read it already.

New or used?

If it’s not too costly, new. Have nothing against old though. But generally prefer rare books from the used stalls.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse?

All three, but my first choice is browsing followed by recommendations and book reviews.

Tidy ending or cliffhanger?

Tidy endings. A book not ended well is a book not well written. In case of books, well begun is half done does not hold true, I guess. Have always held it against Erich Segal for ending his books abruptly.

Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading?

Generally, nighttime. That’s by default due to work hours. If given a choice, anytime but morning is good for me.

Standalone or series?

Standalone.

Favorite series?

Harry Potter.

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?

India: From Midnight to the Millenium by Shashi Tharoor. Even people who might have heard about it may not have read it. I read this book long back in school, having no idea about who Shashi Tharoor was. I still consider it the best non-fiction on India.

Favorite books read last year?

Arthur and George by Julian Barnes
Plato Papers by Peter Ackroyd
The Great Divorce by C.S.Lewis
Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus
Bhagvad Gita and
Jude the Obscure by Thomas Hardy

Favorite books of all time?

The Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus
The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
Man and Superman by Bernard Shaw
To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee

14 responses to “Fun Facts About Reading – Doing Rounds On Various Blogs

  1. I just came across your blog and wanted to leave a comment. I am a big book lover myself and have read up to The Goblet of Fire in the Harry Potter series. Good stuff! It’s nice to see a book oriented survey. Thanks for the read!

    Brenda

  2. Just adding my two cents.

    -Mass paperback is usually what I end up getting – if I want a book whatever format I can get in is usually what I get.
    -Amazon can be good but I don’t have a credit or debit card and I prefer bricks and mortar. I like to be friendly with my booksellers.
    – Borders definitely. Couches and coffee. And they stock manga now. and B&N isn’t as international as Borders is.
    – Neither bookmark or dogear- I remember where I stopped.
    -Random if in a hurry – if I could be bothered to organise everything it would be alphabetical by author.
    -Keep and on occasion sell those I bought for a quick read and will not miss.
    -Toss dust jacket. They tend to get torn otherwise.
    – Don’t read with the dust jacket on – it gets in the way.
    – Both.
    – Doesn’t matter either way
    – Neither
    – When tired
    – “It was a dark and stormy night”
    – Buy
    – Both.
    – browsing, reviews, recommendation
    – whatever works in the book
    – anytime reading
    – doesn’t matter
    – The Bone People by Keri Hulme
    – The Bone People, Ceremony, Sylvie & Bruno, Sylvie & Bruno Concluded, Kerry Greenwood novels
    – Sylvie & Bruno series, a lot of poetry, Alice series, Discworld series.

    You have a great site – I am adding you to my blogroll! Thanks, Marisa.

  3. Thanks a lot to both Marisa and Brenda.
    To Brenda: Way to go with the Potter series. The ones you have not read are the best. You are in for some really good surprises. Enjoy!
    To Marisa: Thanks for the compliment. Shall try and keep up, more so after 15th May, that’s when my exams end.:-)

  4. I did this one a while ago, think sometime last month(?) But I remember having similar answers, like keeping the books, using bookmarks, and preferring novels over short stories, although I’ve been reading more short stories lately. Good luck on your exams! 🙂

  5. thirtylbpaper

    I was instantly smitten by Lemony Snicket’s work — do try at least one. They are children’s books — more so than Harry Potter, I think — but so well written. They are clever, the vocabulary is refreshingly rich, and they do have heart.

    I’m glad my review encouraged you. No refund promises here, though! Perhaps you could borrow someone’s copy to try the series out.

  6. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  7. what a great site and informative posts, I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    I’m Out! 🙂

  8. Hi the information in this site is wonderful and useful, please visit my blog http://www.factsntips.com/ for more interesting facts. Please suggest me your valuable suggestions and advices through mail

  9. Good blog you have here.. It’s hard to find
    excellent writing like yours nowadays. I really appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  10. You actually expressed that perfectly.

  11. Valuable info. Lucky me I discovered your site by accident,
    and I’m stunned why this twist of fate didn’t took place earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  12. I was very pleased to uncover this site. I need
    to to thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!
    ! I definitely enjoyed every part of it and i also have you saved to fav to check
    out new things in your website.

  13. We attribute our growth to a few simple but unique and very straightforward business philosophies.
    The majority of the yacon syrup cannot be digested, which is why it only has approximately a third of the
    caloric value of sugar, or about 133 calories per 100 grams.
    This article has been flagged as spam, if you think
    this is an error please contact us.

Leave a Reply

