A Word for the Host – WordPress.com

For almost a year now, I have been blogging off and on. I have enjoyed it more than I ever thought I would. For all the fun and contentment that I had in doing that, I think it is only befitting that I thank the host that I have finally stuck to – WordPress.com.

I first began on the Blogger. I do not remember how, but I stumbled upon WordPress and decided to give it a try. Alongside, I also tried out Vox (only because many reliable people opine that Movable Type is the best blogging platform) and Livespace. However, WordPress beats them right, left, and centre in an overall analysis. Therefore today, I have two blogs running and both here.

First things first – it’s free. Typepad, which is definitely a good option is too pricey in comparison. Secondly, (now) it offers more space (3GB) than any other. Thirdly, for those who do not understand coding beyond a point, it is damn simple to use. The ability to make your blog look good without any coding at all is stupendous. That’s one of the places where Blogger takes a bad beating.

Above all, the dashboard is extraordinary and damn organised. Anything that a blogger might need is there within the top blue bar. The ‘tag’ feature creates a community / route to find blogs or posts of similar interest, something which Blogger does not do as well. The ‘My Comments’ feature is another superb innovation to create an involuntary and extraordinary community.

There are definitely things that we all crib about – e.g. the inability to use javascript enabled widgets, CSS upgrade that comes at a cost (free on Blogger), no freedom to choose fonts, etc. Despite all that, I am here and am more than satisfied.

I had come to hold an opinion that on the net, any Google venture is better than others. In blogging, Sir, my host takes the cake.

This is just a post to say ‘thank you’ to all those behind wordpress.com. Great job guys!

3 responses to “A Word for the Host – WordPress.com

  1. WordPress is indeed a great host. I’m too impressed by its simplicity.

  2. I’ve made a similar journey and fully agree with you. WordPress.com rocks!

  3. Hello my family member! I want to say that this post is awesome, great written and include almost all important infos. I’d like to look more posts like this .

Leave a Reply

